Now what?

Have you ever bought something because you loved it on sight, and then couldn’t figure out what to do with it once you got it home? There’s a lovely blue knit shell with beading on it in my closet like that – had it for years and I think it’s been worn once. It was a great buy on sale, but it doesn’t actually GO with anything!

These beads are like that. I loved the online photo when I ordered them. Lampworked (hand made) glass beads, a pearly iridescent surface, splashes of softly glowing metallic blue, turquoise, yellow, and rose, with black threads winding throughout. Look down on them and they are silvery; hold them up to the light and they have an amber tone. They seemed perfect for the kind of jewelry I make. But so far I have not found any combination of glass or metal beads that work with them in either an earring or bracelet design. Aaargh!

When I worked in stained glass the material would eventually “speak” to me and tell me where it wanted to go, how it wanted to be used. I’m waiting somewhat impatiently for these beads to speak up, too. I’ll let you know when they do.

2 thoughts on “Now what?

  1. Great! I woke up this morning thinking I need to work with something new, to design something new. A different medium is a good challenge since it’s almost certainly something outside my comfort zone!

Leave a Reply

